The Government of The Gambia


A legislature is a state’s internal decision-making organization, usually associated with national government that has the power to enact, amend, and repeal public policy. In the Gambia, the National assembly is the legislative branch of the Government. The National Assembly is headed by the Speaker. The Speaker and Deputy Speaker may only be chosen from among the presidential appointees to the National Assembly, not the elected members.

The Cabinet

The Cabinet of the Gambia is the chief executive body of the Republic of the Gambia. The Cabinet is made up of the President, the Vice President, and the Cabinet Ministers.


The National Assembly is the Gambia’s national parliament. It is a unicameral parliament. Consisting of 53 members, 48 of which are directly elected for a term of 5 years, while the remaining 5 are appointed by the President. Members are often given the abbreviated title of NAM’s (National Assembly Members).

Government Entities




Local Government Areas


Departments and Agencies